Poll: Thumb name?

One of the things I have found out recently is that there is no set name for my thumbs. Wikipedia has used ‘clubbed’ thumbs and that’s where I got my idea from. But many people use the word ‘midget’ thumbs. I have also heard stub thumbs and others. The technical name is brachydactyly type D or BDD thumbs.

So how about Royal thumbs? Or Big Toe thumbs? Why not? So I have added a poll on the right to find out what terms people use…

23 Responses to “Poll: Thumb name?”

  1. Jaimie Says:

    My mom always tells me i have frog thumbs because they remind her of like suction-cups or something. 🙂

  2. Lucas Says:

    my friends call the “Hammer Thumbs” but i’ve also had people call them Toes

  3. Liza Says:

    The topic is quite hot in the net at the moment. What do you pay attention to when choosing what to write about?

  4. Kate Says:

    I only have one “clubbed thumb”. I’ve realized my thumb was different for a long time, but I really never figured out what it was called… I, for my whole life ave given it several names like the toe-thumb, or nubby or other names like that…. But now I know what my thumb is actually called!

  5. Vonda Skelton Says:

    I had no idea there were so many of us! Both of my thumbs are abnormal, and I never thought too much about it until I was working as a nurse in orthopedic surgery while I was writing my first mystery. One of the surgeons looked at my hands and said, “Oh, you have Murderer’s Thumbs.” As a writer of mysteries, it was music to my ears! So…the primary suspect in my first children’s mystery (Bitsy and the Mystery at Tybee Island) has murderer’s thumbs! Perfect!

    Thanks for your site!

  6. Amy Says:

    Many members of my family have one or two of these thumbs. I only have one — my left. We’ve always called them “hitchhiker’s thumbs.”

  7. Nikki Says:

    I have only one ‘clubbed thumb’, the right one, which I refer to as my ‘mutant thumb’. I like to tell those who scoff at my stub thumb that inside the thumb there is a tiny laser that can burn holes through bone. Take that.

  8. Chelle Says:

    My friends and family have ALWAYS referred to my thumb as my “hammer! I’m so shocked to read another posters’s friends/family also call it a hammer!!!

  9. charlie Says:

    clubbed thumbs or a single clubbed thumb can also be an indication that the person was also born with another congenital “abnormality”. heart murmurs are often linked with them. there are also many genetic variations that can cause it as well…since i have my own clubbed thumb and have never EVER met another person with one (let alone a pair!) in real life, it is kinda cool to see so many here!

  10. bubbagirl Says:

    My grandmother and her niece (my second cousin) both have a double set, like mine. We call them the “lucky thumbs” because people in the family who have them are SO SWEET and kind. Everyone in our family considers them a family heirloom, a treasure.
    So be proud of your lucky thumbs!

  11. Donica Ben Says:

    My older sisters used to call me “plum-thumbs” growing up. :-/ 😀

  12. Rick Says:

    I have a clubbed thumb on my left hand. Throughout high school i would freak people out by bending it as far back as it would go. I never called it a club thumb until i saw this sight. My girlfriend’s mother called it a bludgeon thumb and said it was a serial killer trait. Such a sweet lady really.

  13. danno Says:

    I’ve got one! I’ve always called it my ‘tree people thumb’… I’ve met a bunch of people with two, but never anyone else with one. When I was a kid my mom called it my ‘healing thumb’.

  14. cara Says:

    both my thumbs are ‘clubbed’ and i love them!!!! and i only found today that other people had thumbs like mine.

  15. Victoria Says: Says:

    I have always referred to my ‘club thumbs’ as my “can openers’ (the nail is very strong!), or my kids say they look like ‘light bulbs’. At nail appointments technicians have told me they see it all the time, but i have only met one girl like me in a bathroom. When I asked to see her thumbs she was embarassed and then I showed her mine, it was a first for both of us, and we hugged and laughed. I really like them, mine are both short round at the top, but narrow in the middle, (lightbulb-like). They don’t bother me but I am an artistic painter and I hate handwriting maybe that’s why, it’s more work for the challenged!

  16. Victoria Says: Says:

    Wow, ok, the heart murmer thing is TRUE FOR ME. I had superventriculartacacardia (SVT) and had a heart procedure at 34, it’s a rhythm/murmer issue I think. Anyway, wierd!? I had not idea!

  17. Suzanne Says:

    I’m just learning the name today of the “murderer’s thumbs”! Guess I never googled it the right way. So excited to have a biological and character associations with it! Both thumbs involved for me, my mom, and two aunts. We all have heart murmurs, very strong wills and tempers (oh no!!). And yes, bowling is a pain for me too . . . life goes on.

  18. Laura Says:

    My eight year daughter has BBD thumbs. She gets embarassed when she has to put her thumbs up in class for an activity. The other children notice. We tell her, ” you have lil baby thumbs”. She likes that. I saw that Megan Fox has BBD thumbs, so now my lil girl will love to show off her thumbs!

  19. Lorraine Alessandrini Says:

    Exactly facts that we has been searching for. Nicely put as well.

  20. omar gosh Says:

    Had it up my ass too long thumb

  21. Wendy Says:

    I have one club thumb on my right hand. growing up I was always embarrassed about it & took extra effort to make sure no one would see it. My husband adores my thumb & has named it “Thumbelina” quite endearing!

  22. Aly Says:

    Both of my thumbs are identically clubbed. When I was in Junior High school, my classmates referred to them as “gnome thumbs.” Remarkably, years later, my husband adopted the same knickname for them! I always knew they were different, and they make me very self-conscious. I was surprised how empowered I felt when I was told that someone as stunning as Megan Fox has the same condition. It makes me realize that it doesn’t have to hold me back, and I can still feel beautiful 🙂

  23. Evelyn jones Says:

    My mother calls them ‘cobra’ thumbs.

Leave a Reply

